Doug Owen Three Quid for the Privilege


Doug Owen: Three Quid for the Privilege – mp3 download

This brilliant new double album is at once a theme album, a feast of varied songs from 10 different songwriters, a showcase of some very mature musicianship from The Monster Meeting Band, and and a protest album that speaks to us today through the story of the Monster Meeting of Diggers, 1851.

This was the first mass protest meeting in Australia, when 15,000 diggers stood up to the Victorian Government’s Gold License, a tax whether they earned any money or not, and won. In doing so they set a path for democracy in Australia.

Recorded by Mark Woods (Men at Work, Midnight Oil, Tina Turner) and produced by Jan ‘Yarn’ Wositzky (Bushwackers Band) it features Ashley Davies (Waifs, Geoff Lang) on drums, Tim Heath (The Basics, Blood Red Bird) playing acoustic and electric guitars, James Rigby (Ugly Uncles. Blackwood) on mandolin, bouzouki, tenor banjo, Nicolas Lyon (Peter Sculthorpe, Margaret RoadKnight, Yellow House) and Jan ‘Yarn’ Wositzky on 5-string banjo and harmonica.