Monster Meeting - Song CD download

Song CD (with PDF of booklet) $14.95 download.


Song CD (with PDF of booklet) – download

Disc 1: The Songs

This brilliant new double album is at once a theme album, a feast of varied songs from 10 different songwriters, a showcase of some very mature musicianship from The Monster Meeting Band, and and a protest album that speaks to us today through the story of the Monster Meeting of Diggers, 1851.

This was the first mass protest meeting in Australia, when 15,000 diggers stood up to the Victorian Government’s Gold License, a tax whether they earned any money or not, and won. In doing so they set a path for democracy in Australia.

Recorded by Mark Woods (Men at Work, Midnight Oil, Tina Turner) and produced by Jan ‘Yarn’ Wositzky (Bushwackers Band) it features Ashley Davies (Waifs, Geoff Lang) on drums, Tim Heath (The Basics, Blood Red Bird) playing acoustic and electric guitars, James Rigby (Ugly Uncles. Blackwood) on mandolin, bouzouki, tenor banjo, Nicolas Lyon (Peter Sculthorpe, Margaret RoadKnight, Yellow House) and Jan ‘Yarn’ Wositzky on 5-string banjo and harmonica.

Jan Wositzky sings three of the songs. The remainder are sung by the songwriters, and special guest, traditional virtuoso, Danny Spooner, as well as Jane Thompson (Blackwood, Faye White) singing harmonies.

The songwriters, some well known, some not, are listed below.

Songwriter & Songs

Richard Lewis: We Are Starting Something Here

Jamie Roberts: The Cards That Fell

Martin McKenna: Thirty Shillings A Month

Peter Kenyon: Fool’s Gold

Patrick Killeen: The Ballad of Forest Creek

Mickey Levis & Annie Morabito: More In Our Hearts than Gold

Frank Jones & Christie Wositzky-Jones: Father Dear

Doug Owen: Three Quid for the Privilege

Dave Maxwell: Gather ‘round the Flag

Merryn Lamb: We Stand for Our Rights

Stephen Foster/ Charles Mackay/Trad./ Jan ‘Yarn’ Wositzky: Good Time A Coming

Tony Ryan: The Quartz And The Clay

Frank Jones: The Monster Meeting